AHA names new trustees to the board

AHA Press Release

August 5, 2021 9:10 pm

The American Hospital Association has elected six new members to its Board of Trustees for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2022. The Board of Trustees is the highest policymaking body of the AHA and has ultimate authority for the governance and management of its directions and finances.

Dennis W. Pullin, FACHE, president and CEO of Virtua Health, a not-for-profit integrated health system in New Jersey, with five hospitals, 300 care sites and 15,000 colleagues offering a full continuum of primary, preventive, wellness, acute, and long-term care.

Pullin came to Virtua in 2017 from the Washington, D.C./Baltimore, MD area where he was president of MedStar Harbor Hospital and senior vice president of MedStar Health. Prior to leading MedStar Harbor, he was senior vice president and chief operating officer at MedStar Washington Hospital Center in Washington, D.C. 

Pullin’s extensive background includes many executive leadership positions in hospitals, academic medical centers, physician group practices and private industry. He was vice president of operations and business development at St. Luke’s Episcopal Health System in Houston and vice president of acquisitions and development at Symbion Healthcare, Inc.

A fellow and past regent of the American College of Healthcare Executives, Pullin serves on the New Jersey Hospital Association Board of Trustees. He is a past chair of the American Hospital Association’s Governance Council for Metropolitan Hospitals and a past member of the Maryland Hospital Association’s Council on Legislative and Regulatory Policy. He is a current member of the Chamber of Commerce Southern New Jersey Board of Directors and the United Way of Greater Philadelphia and Southern New Jersey Regional Board of Directors. In 2020 and 2018, Modern Healthcare recognized him as one of the nation’s Top 25 Minority Executives in Healthcare. 

Pullin earned a Bachelor of Arts at Texas Lutheran University and a Master of Science at Texas A&M University.